Ani Kicheva

Group leader

I started as an Assistant professor at IST Austria in November 2015. Before that I was a postdoc at MRC National Institute for Medical Research (currently The Francis Crick Institute), London, with James Briscoe. I did my Ph. D with Marcos González-Gaitán – I started at the Max Planck Institute of Cell Biology and Genetics, Dresden and then moved to the University of Geneva, Biochemistry Dept., Switzerland.


Martina Greunz

Technical Assistant 

Martina is from Austria and did her Masters degree at the University of Vienna. She started working in the lab in March 2016.



Marcin Zagorski


Marcin is a biophysicist by training. He joined the lab in November 2016 and has been working on modelling the cross-interaction between the opposing signaling gradients of Shh and BMP in neural tube patterning.



Katarzyna Kuzmicz

PhD student

Kasia did her first rotation in the lab in the Fall of 2016. She is from Poland and did her Master’s degree at the International Institute of Molecular and Cell Biology in Warsaw.



Laura Bocanegra

PhD student

Laura did her first rotation in the lab in the Fall of 2016. She is from Colombia and did her Master’s degree at the University of Geneva, Switzerland.




Stefanie Rus

PhD student

Steffi joined the lab in December 2017. She did her Master’s thesis at the University of Edinburgh.




Kasumi Kishi

PhD student

Kasumi joined the lab in July 2018. She did her Master’s degree at the University of Bristol.




Former lab members

Masters students

Dominik Ritzer

Joana Serrao
Armaan Mehra
Maria Mikhaylova

Rotation students

Louise Arathoon
Bettina Zens
Alexandra Schauer
Paulo Caldas
Priscila Hirschfeld